Eighth Annual Interactive Seminar and Workshop Webinar — 2022

October 10-12, 2022

We're looking forward to another information and educational webinar in 2022.

This year's webinar will follow the same format as last year with invited and member speakers. Each day's session will be 4.5 hours in length with a 30-minute break. Check here often as we add more information about the speakers and daily schedules.

Register Now for the 2022 Webinar

You must complete both the Registration Form below and make payment to reserve your space.
Your registration is NOT complete until you provide payment. Complete the form below and use the PayPal payment form on our Contact page to pay now for your registration.
(Or see the registration form below for additional payment options.)


About the Speakers — 2022 Webinar



Beverly East, MGA, CDE, CAM, DPGABeverley East

Beverley East, MGA, CAM, CFDE, is a court qualified Forensic Document Examiner who has practiced in the field for 32 years internationally. She has testified before 36 judges in 6 countries. She has offices in Washington D.C., Kingston Jamaica, and London England.

Ms. East hosts in-house training for bankers through the Jamaican Institute of Financial Services and accredited seminars for lawyers through the General Legal Counsel. Her consultancy provides services to many government agencies.


Sharon HamptonSharon R. Hampton

Sharon R. Hampton has been working in the field of document examination for 20 years. First working for USA Funds, the student loan organization, and then for Conseco in Carmel, Indiana, all prior to formal training, starting in 2005. Before formal training, tens of thousands of comparisons had been performed and a love for the work developed, working 6, 12-hour days a week for 16 months, which was a great privilege for experiencing the practice of document examination.

Graduating and certifying in 2007 from The School of Document Examination, Dallas, Tx., was followed by future certifications from SAFE, and then IADE. Sharon's passion is exposing the injustice of false documents wherever they are found, but especially in the US Courts. So far, false, and altered, and forged documents have been uncovered in Prosecution's Exhibits in Federal Court records where a successful conviction and a 10-year sentence was served by a father and son. Then, false documents in an Indiana State Prosecution's Exhibits, convicted and sentenced a man to 16 years in 2010, he is still serving his sentence. In an attorney malfeasance criminal case, a substituted document in a plea agreement converted a misdemeanor drug charge to a Class 2 felony for 11 defendants charged on the single indictment. Instead of 6 months and probation, they each got 10 years.

We have no idea of the enormity of the problem of lies on paper, but it is an ever-expanding enterprise. And with it often comes retaliation, either by the judge or an attorney, which speaks lies about the document examiner, and enters them into the record, and often seals the record to the public.


Eileen Page

Eileen Page has been in business as a Questioned Document Examiner for over 20 years. She has a Master of Arts Degree in Critical and Creative Thinking from the University of Massachusetts in Boston. She also has a Bachelor of Science Degree from Fitchburg State University in MA. Her primary education and training was at a 6 year residential program with WADE, the World Association of Document Examiners. She keeps current by attending conferences and weekly classes with Kathie Koppenhaver. She has conducted many research projects one of which includes her published Master's Thesis which compared drawings and handwriting. Her experience in the field has been diversified and has rendered opinions on such documents as Wills, Deeds, Loans, Notary Journals, petty cash slips as well as identifying writers of slanderous and threatening anonymous notes. She has been deemed court qualified and has testified in Land Court, Probate and Family Court, and Superior Court.


Dr. Tomlinson Rauscher

Dr. Tomlinson Rauscher has 30 years of experience managing the development and delivery of computer systems products. He worked at Xerox Corporation managing the development of software systems and reprographic systems products. From 1997 through 2007, Dr. Rauscher held executive product development management positions in the computer storage industry. Since 2007, he has directed the design and development of electronic signature hardware and software systems at Interlink Electronics and Topaz Systems. Rauscher retired from Topaz in 2018, and now consults part-time for Topaz and other businesses.

Rauscher earned his B.S. at Yale University, his Ph.D. in Computer Science at the University of Maryland, and his M.B.A. at the University of Rochester William E. Simon School of Business. Dr. Rauscher has been a speaker, panelist, session chairman, and program chairman at several technology, computer, and management conferences addressing technology topics such as electronic signature technology, computer storage systems, and software development processes; and management topics such as time-to-market and organization architecture. He is the author/coauthor of two books, more than 25 technical publications, and five patents.


Jonathan W. Hak, Q.C.

Jonathan W. Hak, Q.C. is a barrister and solicitor, international imagery law lecturer, adjunct associate law professor, and PhD Candidate. He was a Crown Prosecutor with the Alberta Crown Prosecution Service for over 30 years and has extensive experience leading and challenging expert evidence in the courtroom. Jonathan has been teaching law through all of his legal career, teaching extensively in Canada, US, UK, Hong Kong, and Singapore. Since 2006, he has taught Courtroom Testimony for Expert Witnesses to a broad array of experts from across North America and beyond. He obtained his formal legal education in Canada (MRU, UBC), the United States (Cal State), and the United Kingdom (Cambridge). He is currently a PhD Candidate in the Faculty of Law at Leiden University in the Netherlands where he is focusing on the use of non-textual evidence in international criminal prosecutions for atrocity crimes.

Seminar and Workshop Webinar Program

October 10-12, 2022 • Location of Seminar: Zoom Seminar
Manager: Beth Chrisman: 310-910-3993 • Co-Manager: Kathy Carlson: 970-275-6846
Seminar Tech Support: Val Weil: 412-508-9936

Select date below to view program details and the topics discussed.


Hello and Good Morning

Time

PDT: 8:15am – 8:50am
MDT: 9:15am – 9:50am
CDT: 10:15am – 10:50am
EDT: 11:15am – 11:50am
EEST: 6:15pm – 6:50pm

Room #1

General chit chat with fellow examiners. No moderator.

Room #2

Moderated


Sticks and Stones Will Break Your Bones, But Words Can Never Hurt You! Or so My Mother Said!

Presented by Sharon Hampton (see Speakers tab above to view bio)

PDT: 9am - 10am
MDT: 10am - 11am
CDT: 11am - 12pm
EDT: 12pm - 1pm
EEST: 7pm – 8pm

Or: How to Deal With "Subjective Personal Opinions," or false representations of credentials, placed into the record by a judge or attorney to demean the expert without recourse to amend or correct the misrepresentations. Participants will have the opportunity to share personal experiences and knowledge of abuses and offer their approach or suggested approaches to meeting the problem head on with an "Open Discussion."


"A Challenging Anonymous Note" – Case Study Presentation

Presented by Eileen Page (see Speakers tab above to view bio)

PDT: 10am - 11am
MDT: 11am - 12pm
CDT: 12pm - 1pm
EDT: 1pm - 2pm
EEST: 8pm – 9pm

This is a very interesting and unique anonymous note case that involved comparing the printed writing of 3 freshman roommates attending Hofstra University in NY to 2 printed derogatory words written on a flowered pillowcase! Since I was able to use only 5 of the letters on the anonymous note to use for my comparison, I wound up having to create ratios differentiating the various nuances of the letters which I then had to converted to percentages in order solve the case. The good news is that it solidified my findings and justice was served.


30-MINUTE BREAK


Navigating the Labyrinth of Examining Signed PDF Documents

Presented by Tomlinson Rauscher (see Speakers tab above to view bio)

PDT: 11:30am - 1:00pm
MDT: 12:30pm - 2:00pm
CDT: 1:30am – 3:00pm
EDT: 2:30pm - 4:00pm
EEST: 9:30pm – 11:00pm

Support on a variety of computing platforms (hardware, operating systems, and browsers) has made PDF documents ubiquitous; they are both the de jure and de facto standard for document exchange. Thus, PDF documents have become widely used for contracts, wills, and other legal documents. They have evolved to support security features and electronic signatures. Their popularity has also engendered the development of tools that enable editing (altering) documents in ways that can obfuscate (intentionally or unintentionally) users' intentions, compounding the task of document examiners verifying the authenticity of PDF document contents.

To facilitate document examiners navigating the labyrinth of examining PDF documents, I will examine the structure of PDF documents, and discuss ways in which they can be edited, secured, and signed electronically. I'll describe different types of electronic signatures and note the forensic pitfalls of the most widely used types of esignatures. Sample documents will illustrate how signed PDFs can be presented to try to fool forensic document examiners. I'll also demonstrate the secure storage of biometric signatures in PDF documents, so that the attempted modification of signed electronic documents after signing can be detected. Summaries of court cases provide insight into the authenticity of electronically signed documents.


Digital Documents – Case Studies

Presented by Kathy Carlson

PDT: 1:00pm – 1:30pm
MDT: 2:00pm – 2:30pm
CDT: 3:00pm – 3:30pm
EDT: 4:00pm – 4:30pm
EEST: 11:00pm – 11:30pm

Finally, I will present software tools to support forensic analysis of electronic signatures by professional document examiners, focusing on signature verification. Armed with this information and these tools, forensic document examiners should have deeper insights into analyzing digital documents and signatures and can provide guidelines for designing secure signature capture systems.

Hello and Good Morning

Time

PDT: 8:15am – 8:50am
MDT: 9:15am – 9:50am
CDT: 10:15am – 10:50am
EDT: 11:15am – 11:50am
EEST: 6:15pm – 6:50pm

Room #1

General chit chat with fellow examiners. No moderator.

Room #2

Moderated


Demonstrative Evidence Utilizing Word

Presented by Teresa Brooks

PDT: 9am - 10am
MDT: 10am - 11am
CDT: 11am - 12pm
EDT: 12pm - 1pm
EEST: 7pm – 8pm

More information to come.


30-MINUTE BREAK


Courtroom Testimony for Expert Witnesses: A Primer

Presented by Jonathan W. Hak, Q.C. (see Speakers tab above to view bio)

PDT: 11:30am - 1:00pm
MDT: 12:30pm - 2:00pm
CDT: 1:30am – 3:00pm
EDT: 2:30pm - 4:00pm
EEST: 9:30pm – 11:00pm

Becoming an expert in a particular field of expertise is a significant accomplishment because it means that through substantial education, training, and experience, you have acquired a level of targeted knowledge that is superior to that of the trier of fact, and you are able to assist in the search for the truth. Becoming an effective expert witness is an entirely different endeavor that requires a multifaceted skill set. If an expert witness is not able to perform well in the pressurized environment of the courtroom, there will be a disconnect between what the expert has to offer and what is delivered in the courtroom.

Courtroom Testimony for Expert Witnesses is a subject that covers a variety of topics focused not only on witness stand performance but many preparatory steps leading up to the courthouse. Relevant topics include drafting expert reports; the importance of peer review; developing an informative expert curriculum vitae; trial procedure; the process of being qualified as an expert witness in the courtroom; expert witness bias; the various roles of an expert witness; effectively communicating your evidence during direct examination; learning strategies that will assist with understanding, surviving, and even profiting from cross examination; responding to the pressure to change your opinion; the expanded role of an expert when there is an opposing expert; and more.

The Courtroom Testimony for Expert Witnesses course is a dynamic three-day course that incorporates lectures, demonstrations, and moot courts based on submitted expert reports. This informative one-hour introductory presentation will provide a broad overview on selected topics related to expert witness testimony. There will also be an opportunity for Q&A.

Hello and Good Morning

Time

PDT: 8:15am – 8:50am
MDT: 9:15am – 9:50am
CDT: 10:15am – 10:50am
EDT: 11:15am – 11:50am
EEST: 6:15pm – 6:50pm

Room #1

General chit chat with fellow examiners. No moderator.

Room #2

Moderated


OSAC & ASB – Roles, Purposes, and Differences

Presented by Brianne Breedlove

PDT: 9am - 10am
MDT: 10am - 11am
CDT: 11am - 12pm
EDT: 12pm - 1pm
EEST: 7pm – 8pm

More information to come.


Fingerprints and Documents – An Overlap of Evidence

Presented by Brianne Breedlove

PDT: 10am - 11am
MDT: 11am - 12pm
CDT: 12pm - 1pm
EDT: 1pm - 2pm
EEST: 8pm – 9pm

More information to come.


30-MINUTE BREAK


More information to come.

Presented by Nanette Barto

PDT: 11:30am - 12:30pm
MDT: 12:30pm - 1:30pm
CDT: 1:30am – 2:30pm
EDT: 2:30pm - 3:30pm
EEST: 9:30pm – 10:30pm

More information to come.


More information to come.

Presented by Nanette Barto

PDT: 12:30am – 1:30am
MDT: 1:30am – 2:30pm
CDT: 2:30pm - 3:30pm
EDT: 3:30pm - 4:30pm
EEST: 10:30pm – 11:30pm

More information to come.


Approximately 30 - 45 minutes

Annual General Membership Meeting